Innovation Awards

There are several institutions awarding rewards for innovation. Previous week Economist announced year 2006 Innovation awards:

Economist Innovation Awards 2006

  • Bioscience: Marvin Caruthers, professor of chemistry and biochemistry at the University of Colorado at Boulder, for the development of automated DNA synthesis—in essence, the ability to “print out” arbitrary strands of genetic material.
  • Computing and communications: Janus Friis and Niklas Zennström of Skype, for the development of internet file-sharing and telephony using peer-to-peer technology.
  • Energy and the environment: Johannes Poulsen, former chief executive, Vestas Wind Systems, for the commercialisation of wind energy.
  • Social and economic innovation: Hernando de Soto, founder and president of the Institute for Liberty and Democracy, for the promotion of property rights and economic development.
  • Business-process innovation: Sam Pitroda, chief executive of WorldTel, for pioneering India’s communications revolution.
  • Consumer products: Nicolas Hayek, chairman of Swatch, for revitalising the Swiss watch industry.
  • "no boundaries": Pierre Omidyar, founder and chairman of eBay, for the development of electronic marketplace technology and his promotion of access to markets as a tool for social change.

For more info see:

- Minna

Submitted by mitakala on Mon, 2006-11-20 10:00.